I run like the wind!

Okay, more like “I run like the wind is blowing against me at high speeds,” but the point is that I run!  Today was my first day back running after a VERY long hiatus, and I’m not entirely sure yet if it was awesome or awful; I will make that call tomorrow.

If you know me outside of my brand new blog, you will know that I have been suffering from a pinched sciatic nerve and some pretty intense leg and hip pain since mid October, and some gross back pain since mid July.  It sucked.  I took a break from weight training at the end of July, and was forced to stop running in October.  The numbness in my leg and the fact that my right side would literally give out while I was moving made running tough, to say the least, so I had to give it up for a while.  Bummer – especially when you factor in the extra 15lbs that just magically appeared on my ass.  Anyway, I focused on getting chiropractic treatments (from a massage-manipulation chiropractor with magic hands), going for regular massages, and practicing yoga whenever possible, and low-and-behold, I am now on the mend!  I am not yet feeling 100%, and I still have a LOT of tightness in my right calf, but comparatively speaking, I am feeling pretty good!

Let’s talk about my run tonight, though.  I’ve been walking at a decently brisk pace for a little over a month, so my magic-hands chiropractor and I decided that I was ready to try running again.  I was pretty nervous given the fact that the last time I ran, my leg buckled underneath me and I wiped out in a crumpled heap on top of one of my dogs with the other one licking my face.  I love my “kids,” but I don’t do face licking, and Jax knows it, so I guess he must’ve been pretty concerned about me.  Naava is a trooper and she still loves me even though I squashed her.  Anyway…I was nervous, but I tied up my shoes, put on my running leash, grabbed the dogs, and headed out the door.  It was…fine.  I was slow – I haven’t done any cardio for quite a while now (I guess I did swim laps 4 or 5 times, but the pool in my town is closed for upkeep, so I haven’t even done that for about a month!).  My breathing was a lot more laboured than I would like, my legs felt a bit like I was running through jell-o, and my right leg got REALLY heavy after about five minutes, but I ran for a full eleven minutes before I had to walk.  Three months ago, eleven minutes would’ve been just getting me warmed up, but I don’t care.  I’m proud of those eleven minutes, and I plan to turn them into twelve – or maybe even thirteen – for next time!

I followed up my run/walk with a nice yoga stretch in my living room, and then had a lovely tea and visit with my husband, who has since gone to bed while I click away at the keyboard.  All in all it was a pretty wonderful evening, and I’m really glad that I can call myself a runner again, even if I’m not exactly running like the wind.

Leave a Reply

