Grandmas are Awesome!

Hello my lovely blog readers!

Today is the last day of my Christmas holidays, so I thought I’d give you a little update before I head back to work.  I spoke with my Grandma on the phone earlier (It’s her 79th birthday today!), and she has been reading my blog.  That is actually pretty exciting for me because computers ≠ her stong point, which means that she must love me A LOT.  I already knew that, but a little bit of reinforcement is always nice.

This is what she had to say:
  1. “I don’t know about you saying ‘fat ass;’ what if your students read that?” – I told her that I doubt my students have any idea that I am writing a blog, and even if they did read it, that hearing me say “fat ass” probably wouldn’t be that big of a deal.  Then she realized that my students are 17 (not 6, like hers used to be), and probably won’t be going around copying everything I say.  Then she laughed at herself a little bit.
  2. “I liked the part where you wrote about falling and the dogs – where Jax licked your face.” – I am really hoping that she didn’t mean she was happy about me falling down.  I think she meant that it was funny.  I am going to go with that.
  3. “I don’t think you are going to have time to write that much when you go back to work.” – she is right; I probably won’t have time for this much writing when I’m teaching/prepping/marking.  I will still be writing every day, but instead of writing an entry or two every day, it might take me a couple of days to complete one blog entry.  It’s funny because I was thinking literally the exact same thing while I was running with the dogs a few minutes before I called her.  Sometimes we are almost the same person born 47 years apart.

Wow, I just did the math on that to figure out that we are 47 years apart.  My Grandma became a Grandma at 47 – I would have to give birth this very second, and my baby would have to get knocked up at 15 for that to happen to me.  Weird.  I don’t think that will be happening.

Leave a Reply

