Early Rise Circuit Class #1 – A Success?

I’m back!  Sorry for the long absence, folks – this past week was a doozie.  I have a lot that I could tell you about, but I’m going to stick with two experiences in particular:  my first fitness class and the first weekend of yoga teacher training…both super exciting for me!

My fitness class is a team teaching effort with another new instructor named Sheila.  She is amazing.  Like legs of steel, jumps higher than I can climb a ladder, and runs faster than I ride my bike.  Okay, so I’m exaggerating a bit, but not that much.  Seriously.  She is REALLY fast and REALLY strong, so I find it a little disconcerting to be team teaching the same group of ladies with her.  All that being said, though, I think my very first class went well!  We are calling the class “Early Rise Circuit” and it runs from 6:15-7:15am on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  Sheila teaches Tuesday, and that leaves Thursdays for me.  We have 9 ladies signed up so far, and I’m hoping they all keep coming back – it would even be pretty cool if they brought their friends.

Last week I designed a 12 station circuit with alternating cardio and strength stations; the participants stayed at each station for 1 minute, and then switched to the next one.  I put in exercises like skipping rope, running up and down on a step, doing squats with an overhead dumbbell press, and doing hamstring kickbacks with a resistance band.  I had hoped to get through all 12 stations twice, but we didn’t quite get there.  I also had them do some ab work before we did a nice cool down and stretch.  There were a lot of red, sweaty faces, but I also saw a bunch of smiles, and I did get a few compliments too, so I’m pretty confident it was a success!  Now I just need to design five more circuits for each week remaining in the six-week session.  Here’s hoping I can come up with more station ideas so that it doesn’t get boring for anyone!
I thought I would also be able to write about my yoga teacher training in this post, but I’m running out of time.  It’s 8:15pm and I still have about 5 hours of homework left to do, so I’m closing up the laptop for now.  Yoga info tomorrow – I promise!
Leave a Reply

