Motivation Meltdown

I’ve read a lot of posts tonight about having a lack of motivation, and as much as I hate to hear about others who are struggling, it is nice to know that I’m not alone.  This past week has been VERY tough on me:  I am into my no-prep semester, which means that I am teaching full days, without any breaks at all.  There are four class sessions within my day, and because of split classes, I am now teaching six classes in a four period day.  I spent the majority of the weekend at school just trying to stay on top of things.  On top of that, I am also teaching the morning fitness classes (and contemplating adding in one more per week), plus managing our household and taking care of the dogs on my own.  My darling husband is still working out-of-town, so for the time being it is all on me.  Add to that my own homework to stay on top of my yoga teacher training, and I’m beginning to feel like I may have “bitten off more than I can chew.”  It’s been tough, to say the least, but I have managed to fit in a few good workouts this week!

I got in two good runs on the weekend and had a great yoga class tonight.  Monday was my rest day, so I had every intention of running Tuesday morning, but my body decided that it needed an extra hour of sleep instead.  Sometimes you just have to listen when your body tells you to slow down, I guess!

I teach my circuit class at 6:15 tomorrow morning (I will be off to bed very soon!), and I have a few more good workouts planned for the rest of the week, so I am still mostly on track…sometimes it’s just a lot more difficult finding the energy to fit in a good sweat session than I want it to be.

But let’s conjure up the positive, shall we?  I have managed to fit in some good workouts amid the chaos, I’m rather enjoying the students in my new classes, and I’ve been able to eat well and (mostly) stick to Cycle 1 of the 17 Day Diet.  Really, I amazingly successful!

4 thoughts on “Motivation Meltdown

  1. I totally understand you here. I have school Mon, Tues and Thurs night and meetings often on Wednesday. This is on top of a full day’s work Mon-Friday. Being lazy about it and making excuses about not having time to cook/exercise is what got me into an overweight situation. I’m learning to PLAN PLAN PLAN and make sure I have food to take with me. Good luck!

  2. I’ve noticed a rash of lack-of-motivation posts recently, and I’m wondering if there’s something in the air or the stars or some other superstitious thing that’s affecting us. Ebb and flow, I guess. You have such a packed schedule, but fitting in what you’re able to fit is amazing! Conjure up the positive and keep conjuring.

Leave a Reply

