Unlikely Friendships for which I am Forever Grateful

I completed another weekend of Yoga Teacher Training this past weekend, and it really leaves me with so much to say…but the “so much” is so very difficult to articulate.  The physical part is exhausting, but wonderful, and I honestly wish that my teacher, Catherine lived in my town so that I could take her class multiple times each week.  She is so friggin’ good at what she does that I am literally in awe of her.  And I mean literally, literally – not “a lot” or “quite a bit,” like so many of my students actually mean when they have been misusing the word lately.  Catherine is amazing.  One day she led us through an intense Ashtanga sequence which left me drenched in sweat and wobbling on spent quads, and then to finish off the weekend she led a beginner class as an example for us.  It was spectacular.  She is funny, and kind, and knowledgeable, and everything a great teacher should be.  Plus she makes you work your ass off.  Seriously – in a beginner class, she had a studio full of aspiring yoga teachers working so hard that our muscles were shaking and we were sweating profusely.  At the same time, however, it was totally a class that a true, brand-new-to-yoga-never-taken-a-class-or-even-watched-a-yoga-video-before student would have found accessible.  I can only hope that I can bring a fraction of her skill and grace to my classes once I start teaching.

On top of the physical high I get from practicing on the teacher training weekends, I am also really beginning to connect with the more though-provoking side of my yoga practice.  My training is making me contemplate both yoga and life in new ways…good ways, which can only have a positive impact on my health and well-being, not to mention doing wonderful things for my family and our future.  It’s a win-win situation, really!

So different, yet so good together

The last thing I want to mention about my teacher training is the camaraderie I feel with many of my fellow students.  A few short months ago these were people who I knew nothing about, and a few of them were people who I never would have pictured myself getting to know, since they are so completely different from me.  All of that has gone completely out the window, though, as now many of them have become friends.  I really believe that my teacher training group is an eclectic mix of fabulous people, who each have amazing things to offer the world of yoga, and the world in general.  Getting to know these people has taught me things about myself, and about the world I inhabit, and I am blessed to have had the privilege to get to know each and every single one of my classmates.  Some of us have shared fears and secrets with each other; all of us have laughed, learned and sweated together, and the entire experience has been wonderful.  I cannot say where life will take any of us, but I am quite confident that I have made some lifelong friends through this experience, and for that, I am forever grateful.

Leave a Reply

