Apple Zinger Green Smoothie

One of my favourite ways to get in a few servings of fruit and veggies; it’s so delicious that it tastes like a treat!

Basic Ingredients

What you need:

2 apples
2 carrots
a chunk of ginger
2+ large handfuls of spinach
water (I used about 1/2 a litre)
a blender
I start by chopping up the carrots into bite-size chunks and tossing them into the blender with some water.  Blend until the carrots are pureed, then add in pieces of apple (skin too!) and some grated ginger. I LOVE me some ginger, so I use quite a bit (it’s what gives the smoothie its zing), but it can be overpowering for some people, so use it with caution.

I use the Pampered Chef Apple Slicer/Corer and a hand grater for the ginger.

Depending on your tastes, you might want to change up the quantity of some of your ingredients.  For example, if you like your smoothies a bit sweeter, you might want to use 3 apples instead of 2 – totally up to you!  Lastly, I add in my spinach.  I frequently have to push it down with a spoon, or it just sits on the top of the blender and doesn’t get mixed in with the rest of the smoothie.  Usually spinach is the only green I add in, but I was almost out tonight, and I wanted to make sure that I got my veggies in, so I added some Kale into the blender as well.

Smoothie and tuna for dinner

For some reason I wasn’t super hungry tonight, which is kind of odd, since I did TWO different workouts after work.  Weird.  Anyway, I decided that my smoothie would be enough to hit the spot, but I’m smart enough to know that after two workouts (and with an early morning circuit class to teach tomorrow), that I need to give myself a bit of protein, too.  I’m not normally a big fan of tuna, but it is a pretty nutritional choice, and it was a quick and easy option for me.  In order to make a can of tuna palatable, I usually mix it up with mustard and some fresh or frozen dill…that makes it almost yummy!

My old blender. See how orange the mixture is? That’s why I added the Kale…I needed to get my green on!

I’m finding that I am using my blender more and more, and as I wrote in a previous post, my blender is pretty old.  I’ve been hearing quite a bit about the Vitamix lately, and I am most definitely interested…but I’m not sure I feel comfortable paying over $500 for a blender.  I know that a Vitamix is capable of doing much more than just blending, but I’m not really sure I will ever use it for anything else.  Do you have a Vitamix?  Is it worth the hefty price tag? 

4 thoughts on “Apple Zinger Green Smoothie

  1. I bought a cheap juice extractor from Walmart (and wrote a post – Juicy Gossip – about my green juice). it’s totally paid for itself and then some. I’ve always been scared of ginger, only using a bit when a recipe calls for it, but I will definitely try a little in my juice! oh, and I make my tuna with a little mayo and some chopped green apple (sometimes a spice like paprika or cayenne, but usually plain). it’s unusual but I think pretty tasty with the crisp tart flavors of the apple cutting through the flatness of the tuna…

    • Thanks for the tip! I’m not much of a mayo eater, but I might be able to sub something else like some greek yogurt – and I’d never thought of apple with Tuna, but I can totally see how it would be tasty!

    • Hi Jillian,

      I’d love to email you! I clicked on your name, but it goes to another WordPress site by someone named Victoria…so I’m not sure where to send the email. Let me know and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

