Southwest Chicken Salad

This was dinner last night and lunch today – delightful, filling, and good for you too!

mmmmm, mmmmm, mmmmm!

You Need:

2 BBQ Chicken Breasts
2 cobs of corn
1 can of black beans
2 Avocados
1 lime
Lettuce and/or spinach
Salsa
Whatever else you might want to toss into your salad…

 

I BBQ my chicken and corn at the same time.  I always put the corn on the bottom rack of the BBQ, husk and all (just be sure to soak it in water for 20 minutes + before hand!), and then use some salt-free Club House Chicken spice and a bit of BBQ sauce for the chicken.  Meanwhile, I clean my lettuce, spinach, lime and avocado in some Purslane Veggie wash, and then open a can of black beans.  Anything canned is usually pretty high in sodium, so I always rinse my beans thoroughly and this lowers the sodium content dramatically.

When the corn and chicken are done, I husk the corn and slice it off the cob, and then dice up the chicken breast into bite size chunks.  I put these onto a bed of lettuce and spinach, then top with the black beans and cut up pieces of avocado.  I then squeeze the juice from the lime on top, and scoop on a couple of dollops of salsa.  Mmmmm, mmmmm, mmmmm!

As I said earlier, this made for two pretty substantial meals for me.  If you’re planning to eat twice (as I did), I would keep your ingredients separate, and then cut up the avocado just before serving the second time.  I heated the chicken and corn in the microwave before putting into my salad today.  It was still fabulous the second time around!

Leave a Reply

